## CAPITAL PROJECTS ADVISORY REVIEW BOARD

# January 11, 2019 Draft Agenda

1500 Jefferson Street SE; Presentation Room Olympia, Washington 98501

Walter Schacht (Chair)	Architects	Robert Maruska	Ports
Rebecca Keith (Vice Chair)	Cities	Mike McCormick	Higher Education
Brian Belarde	Construction Trades Labor	Irene Reyes	Private Industry
Rep. Vincent Buys	House of Representatives (R)	Mark Riker	Construction Trades Labor
Steve Crawford	School Districts	Mike Shinn	Specialty Contractors
Bill Frare	Dept. of Enterprise Services	Rep. Steve Tharinger	House of Representatives (D)
Greg Fuller	Specialty Contractors	Andrew Thompson	General Contractors
Sen. Bob Hasegawa	Senate (D)	Lisa van der Lugt	OMWBE
Joaquin Hernandez	Private Industry	Jane Wall	Counties
Charles Horn	Insurance/Surety Industry	Sen. Judy Warnick	Senate (R)
Santosh Kuruvilla	Engineers	Vacant	Public Hospital Districts
Brent LeVander	General Contractors	Total = 23 Members: 19 Voting	, 10 Quorum

ITEM*	PURPOSE	TIME	Presenter
Welcome / Board Member Introductions	Information	10:00 am	Walter Schacht
Approve Draft Agenda	Action		Walter Schacht
Invitation for Public Comments**	Information		Rebecca Keith
Proposed Changes to DB Statute Revisions	Discussion/Action	10:05 am	Walter Schacht
ADJOURNMENT	Action	11:00 am	Walter Schacht

<sup>\*</sup> Agenda and times are subject to adjustment at the discretion of the board the day of the meeting.

Call In: 1-800-245-9874 Access Code: 5931232

**Note:** Callers are asked to keep their phones on Mute unless talking to avoid disruption of the meeting. If there is too much disruption over the phone the Board Members will not be able to adequately participate in the discussion. Thank you.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Public comments accepted throughout the meeting at the discretion of the chair.

## 2019 CPARB Committees

### **JOC EVALUATION COMMITTEE**

Chair: Tae-Hee HanContact email: <a href="mailto:taehee.han@soundtransit.org">taehee.han@soundtransit.org</a>Vice Chair: Quinn DolanContact email: <a href="mailto:qdolan@cce-inc.com">qdolan@cce-inc.com</a>

Committee Goals: Review the data, look at best practices, recommend updates to JOC statute

Members: Bob Bourg (DES), Quinn Dolan (Centennial Contractors), Brent LeVander (Centennial), Gina Owens (City of Seattle), Joy Waynewood (Sound Transit), Chuck Meyer (Gordian), Brooke Teegarden (Gordian), Terry Keys (Gordian), Jim Phillips (Forma), Ed Simpson (WWU), Maja Sutton Huff (WSU), Elsa Tibetts (Seattle)

#### **DESIGN-BUILD STATUTE REVIEW COMMITTEE**

Co-chair: Brett Earnest Contact email: brett.earnest@clarkconstruction.com

Co-chair: Steve Tatge Contact email: statge@uw.edu

**Committee Goals:** Comprehensively review the Design-Build provisions of RCW 39.10 and identify any issues that should be addressed in addition to (a) RFP requirements that do not align with progressive procurements and (b) clarity about honorarium payments.

Members: Nick Datz (Sound Transit), Debra Delzell (DES), Brett Earnest (Clark Construction), Curt Gimmestad (Absher), Rustin Hall (ALSC Architects), Rebecca Keith (City of Seattle), Joe Kline (WSU), Art McClusky (WSDOT), Katie Popolow (Miller Hull Partnership), Walter Schacht (Schacht Aslani Architects), Steve Tatge (UW), Tim Thomas (Bouten), Elisa Young (OMWBE), Janice Zahn (Port of Seattle)

## DATA COLLECTION IMPLEMENTATION COMMITTEE

Chair: Andy Thompson@gcinc.com

**Committee Goal:** Focus Data Collection Committee effort to collect data in response to JLARC's recommendation #3 regarding GC/CM subcontractor and self-performance.

**Members**: Andrew Thompson (Granite Construction), Rebecca Keith (City of Seattle), Irene Reyes (Private Industry), Nancy Deakins (DES); Aleanna Kondelis (UW), Howard Hillinger (Parametrix), Janice Zahn (Port of Seattle), Brian Barson, Jolene Skinner

## 2019 Vacancies

## **RECRUITMENT FOR PRC** (For Vacant/Expiring Positions 2018-19)

Owner – Public Hospitals
Owner – Cities

Private SectorOwner - Counties

## **RECRUITMENT FOR CPARB** (For Position Vacancies)

Hospital Districts
 Visit the Governor's <u>Boards & Commissions</u> page for more
 Insurance/Surety/Industry
 information

Future 2019 Meeting Dates: February 14, May 9, September 12, October 10, December 11 DES Staff Support: Coordinator - Nancy Deakins 360.407.9333; Admin – Talia Baker 360.407.8260