Capital Projects Advisory Review Board **BE/DBI Committee**Meeting Agenda **April 17, 2024**Page 1 of 2

Location: via Teams

Meeting ID: 286 966 538 619 Passcode: 528oxQ

Committee Members: (19 members, 10 = Quorum)

Lekha Fernandes, OMWBE, Chair Santosh Kuruvilla, Exeltech (Engineers), Co-Chair Irene Reyes, Excel Supply Company, Co-Chair

Frank Boykin, MBDA Jackie Bayne, WSDOT OEO

Stephanie Caldwell, Absher Construction Bobby Forch, CPARB DBE Representative

Brenda Nnambi, Sound Transit

Shelly Henderson, Mukilteo School Dist. (K-12 Schools)

Aleanna Kondelis, Hill International

Keith Michel, Forma Construction (GC)
Cathy Robinson, University of WA (was City Rep)
John Salinas II, Specialty Contractors
Young Sang Song, Song Consulting
Cheryl Stewart, Inland Northwest AGC
Chip Tull, Hoffman Construction
Charles Wilson, DES
Olivia Yang, WA State University

Janice Zahn, Port of Seattle

Stakeholder list on the bottom of page

Agenda

1:30 pm	Welcome & Introductions	Information
1:35	Approve Agenda & Minutes from 3/20/2024	Action
1:40	Vote on Problem Statement & Workgroups	Discussion\Action
2:00	Assign Workgroups	Discussion\Action
2:15	Vote on Final Project Schedule	Discussion\Action
2:30	Discuss List of Stakeholders & Expectations	Discussion\Action
2:55	Next Meeting Agenda	Discussion\Action
3:00 pm	Adiourn	Action

Action items:

- 1. DES will provide a link to the language for SB 6040.
- 2. Olivia Yang, Chip Tull, Bill Frare, Keith Michel, and Maja Sutton Huff will take notes and craft a problem statement for the committee, along with drafting a list of workgroups to address individual issues.
- 3. Olivia will arrange a meeting for the group and include Chair Fernandes as optional for support.
- 4. Aleanna Kondelis, Stephanie Caldwell, Brenda Nnambi, Cathy Robinson, and Rachael Pease will define stakeholders, develop an outreach plan, and compile a list with contact information.
- 5. Aleanna will organize a meeting before the April 11 meeting.
- 6. Aleanna will contact MRSC for an email blast about the committee's work and potential participation.
- 7. Jerry Vanderwood will recruit members from AGC for the workgroups.
- 8. Aleanna Kondelis and Co-Chair Santosh Kuruvilla will assist Ethan Swenson in creating a schedule for the committee and subgroups.
- 9. Olivia Yang will compile the first draft of best practices, sending it to Chair Fernandes for formatting.
- 10. Chair Fernandes will format and distribute the best practices document to committee members.
- 11. Committee members will review the document and provide input on gaps in the best practices list via a survey.
- 12. Janice Zahn will contact Senator Valdez regarding the committee's work.
- 13. All other committee members will review SB 6040, identify areas of interest and expertise, provide input on the best practices list, and ensure the April 11 meeting is on their calendar.

References:

BE/DBI Legislative Report June 2023

Stakeholders:

Capital Projects Advisory Review Board BE/DBI Committee
Meeting Agenda
April 17, 2024
Page 2 of 2

Timolin Abrom, OMWBE
Eric Alozie, NEW Construction
Bob Armstead, Armstead Consulting
Greg Bell, Pierce County
Van Collins, ACEC WA

Bill Dobyns, CBRE|Heery Sarah Erdman, OMWBE

Erin Frasier, WA Building Trades Bill Frare, DES Andrew Greene, Perkins Coie Curt Gimmestad, Absher Construction Hans Hansen, Bailey Construction Maja Huff, WA State University Josh Kilka, MRSC Edwina Martin-Arnold, City of Seattle

Cindy Magruder, University of WA Scott Middleton, MCAWW

Mark Nakagawara, City of Seattle Andrea Ornelas, Union Laura Preftes Cathy Ridley, Exceltech
Kara Skinner, Integrity Surety
Jolene Skinner, L&I
Amy Stenvall, Mukilteo School Dist.
Robynne Thaxton, Thaxton Parkinson
LLC
Jerry Vanderwood, AGC of WA
Melissa Van Gorkom, Senate Comm.
Svcs
Carrie Whitton, Forma Construction
Michele Willms, AGC
Monica Acevedo-Soto